Architizer announces the winners of the A+Awards 2021

Architizer announces the winners of the nineth edition of the A+Awards 2021, the contest that celebrates the best architectures in the world

He Art Museum by Tadao Ando Architect & Associates. Ph: He Art Museum

A+Awards is the international design and architecture competition with the largest number of categories that annually rewards the best architecture projects in the world. After a year of unprecedented social and environmental challenges, this edition’s theme – Architecture for a Changing World – has invited architects and designers from across the globe to present more resilient built environments for generations to come. Among the winners of the 2021 edition are innovative projects by:

Tadao Ando Architect & Associates (Hei Art Museum, Shunde, China)

Heatherwick Studio (Maggie’s Leeds, Leeds, United Kingdom)

Diana Kellogg Architects (The Rajkumari Ratnavati Girls’ School, Jaisalmer India)

VTN (Vo Trong Nghia) Architects (Stepping House, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam)

Caspar Schols (ANNA Stay, Denbosch, Netherlands)

Studio Zhu Pei (Jingdezhen Imperial Kiln Museum, Jingdezhen, China)

Discover the Imperial Kiln Museum by Studio Zhu Pei

The Rajkumari Ratnavati Girl’s School by Diana Kellogg Architects. Ph: Vinay Panjwani

Click here for the full list of winning projects

The projects of the future at the A+Awards 2021

5,000 professionals from over 100 countries applied for this year’s edition. Most of the competing projects were created to address major issues such as climate change, life after COVID-19, urbanization, and problems related to economic inequality.

Stepping Park House by VTN Architects (Vo Trong Nghia Architects). Ph: Hiroyuki Oki

The jury included Professor Lesley Lokko (Founder & Director, African Futures Institute), Tom Kundig FAIA, RIBA (Principal/Owner, Olson | Kundig), Nader Tehrani (Founding Principal, NADAAA; Dean, Cooper Hewitt School of Architecture), Alison Brooks (Principal & Creative Director, Alison Brooks Architects), Fernanda Canales (Founder & Director, Fernanda Canales Arquitectura), and many more.

Community Center Grossweikersdorf by smartvoll. Ph: Dimitar Gamizov

94 categorie e 118 vincitori

The competition awarded two projects in each of the 94 categories: one was selected by the jury, the other by an audience of over 400,000 people.

Presence in Hormoz 02 by ZAV Architects. Ph: Soroush Majidi

A new award has been added this year, the Special Honoree Award, celebrating the projects that help positively address changes in communities around the world. The online celebration of the winners will continue throughout the summer and fall. Moreover, ARCHITIZER: The World’s Best Architecture, the printed guide featuring the last edition’s winning projects, will be published in November 2021.

Related Articles


Agape: 50 years of excellence

“In realtà, volevamo fare dell’altro” (“Actually, we wanted to do something else”) is the title of the exhibition celebrating the 50th anniversary of Agape, a company founded on the banks of the Mincio River in 1973.

Read more »